Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol

HIV Transmission and Education >> Am I Infected?

Pages: 1
alwaysscared
Unregistered

never ending fear
      #102099 - 07/21/04 06:14 PM

I have been fearing hiv for approx 7 yrs. I've gone through periods of fearing everything from oral sex to hand jobs to grinding without penetration. I am a gay man who completely accepts my sexuality but still fears hiv more than the average person. I work, go out, have friends, try to lead a normal life but with the overhanging fear of hiv always there. I do have sexual encounters and am always safe. condoms for anal , but will do oral if the guy doesnt have much pre-cum and never to ejaculation. After any encounter , no matter how safe I am i will find a reason to worry. I usually get over it within a few days, or until i find another reason to worry about the same encounter or a completely different experience makes me worry about the new one. I realize I am obsessed with something that I shouldnt be thinking about too much since i am safe. I get tested 1 or 2 times a year which is probably not too much considering how much i worry about it.

Does anyone hav any suggestions on what I can do? I have never met anyone that says they are positive, and cant imagine hiv spreading so easy , otherwise we would all be dead by now. I cannot possibly do more to protect myself besides abstinence which is not a realistic option. sometimes i wonder if getting it would finally end all the fears...but that is just being stupid too...

please help me.

Post Extras: Remind Me!   Notify Moderator  
Broken_Angel1
Guru

Reged: 02/26/04
Loc: Arizona
Re: never ending fear new
      #102103 - 07/21/04 06:47 PM

I know you are worried. But I have been in a relationship for 13 years with a negative person and he is not HIV! And yes, we kiss, have sex....