Read Now: TheBodyPRO.com Covers AIDS 2014

HIV Announcements >> Classifieds

Pages: 1
Anabel

Reged: 07/07/11
Please help me out with my research!!!
      #256469 - 07/07/11 09:48 AM

Hello,

My name is Anabel Mifsud and I am a graduate student reading for an MSc in Health Psychology at the University College London. As part of my course of studies, I am conducting a research study on peer support groups for persons affected by HIV/AIDS. The title of my research project is "Asymmetric or Complementary Approaches to Social Support? Comparing Experiences within Face-to-Face and Online Support Groups for Persons Living with HIV/AIDS".

The objective of the study is to understand better the experiences of persons living with HIV/AIDS within face-to-face and online support groups. Therefore I am currently looking for persons affected by HIV/AIDS who are 18 years of age or older and have been involved an online support group / online forum / chat room for the past three months and who are willing to share their experience with me by answering a few questions. This will only take about 45 minutes of your time.

The study will contribute toward a better understanding of the benefits of these two types of social support groups for persons living with HIV/AIDS. The findings from the study could be used to improve the support services available to persons affected by HIV/AIDS and to inform healthcare professionals when recommending support options to persons having HIV/AIDS. Your involvement in the study will be an important contribution towards ameliorating social support for persons with HIV/AIDS.

The study has been approved by the UCL Research Ethics Committee (Project ID Number: 2893/001). Throughout the course of the study the research team will follow strict standards of ethical conduct.