Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol

HIV Life >> Gay Men

Pages: 1
Dwayne
Unregistered

I tested positive two months ago
      #3294 - 04/06/00 06:09 PM

I'm a 36yr GWM who tested HIV positive 2 months ago. The shock was enough to blow me away. My doctor settled me down and told me not to worry(right). He said that since I haven't had any serious illness that I must still be in the early stages. Well when my 2nd set of tests came back showing a CD4 count of 350 he said we'll draw more blood and do another test and then we'll have to make some decisions. I am very new to this and I admit very scared. I have a lot of stress in my life at the moment and having to deal with this also is almost enough to do me in. I need some advice. Do I wait to have a more precice test reading after my stess issues have been dealt with, While keeping a close monitor on counts and continued tests. How much does stress play a part on my test results. Also I'm not getting the rest I need nor a steady diet of anything. I probley sound like a prime candidate for death row. I don't have anyone to talk to and whats bottled up inside me is gonna blow soon. I was kinda hopeing to find someone to chat with. Anyway. I don't want to start the drugs until I have to. but I don't want to get to low in my counts and have to have a long battle with something nasty. I know I sound pretty nieve. I do try to read a lot but I find everything so conflicting and opionated It's hard to know whats right and what isn't. If you have time to drop a note. or anthing positive for me to grasp in my time of need I would thank you greatly. Dwayne

Post Extras: Remind Me!   Notify Moderator  
Marc
Unregistered

Re: I tested positive two months ago new
      #3295 - 04/06/00 06:10 PM