Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol

HIV Life >> Gay Men

Pages: 1
stevenmarvin

Reged: 01/01/08
ecstacy
      #234821 - 01/01/08 02:50 AM

Hello, I recently started taking viread and sustiva last week. Stupidly I took 2 MDMA pills tonight. Now I am affraid, should I take my meds or skip the dosage. Can anyone help. I am new to all of this..

Post Extras: Remind Me!   Notify Moderator  
Leonardo
Guru

Reged: 08/07/07
Loc: New Jersey
Re: ecstacy new
      #234823 - 01/01/08 07:54 AM

Although I would be inclined to take the meds while high before I'd skip a dose, maybe you should call a 24-hour pharmacy (assuming your doctor is unreachable) and ask the pharmacist what you should do.

Good luck.

Leo

pozartistsd
Expert

Reged: 01/04/08
Loc: San Diego, CA
      #234965 - 01/05/08 06:00 PM

hey don't beat yourself up over this it happens to a lot of us. I've done a lot of reading on drug interaction via the web and HIV publications. From what i can remember Norvir and some other antiretroviral meds increase the amounts of some "party drugs" like ecstacy and crystal. If you took X last nite then the worst thing would be that the small amounts in your blood now would be amplified by your meds depending on which ones you take (perhaps you would get a bit high again?). The advice to call the pharmacy is a good one. You may already know about this but there's a site to check your meds/interactions at:
https://www.aidsmeds.com/cmm
but it's mostly for legal substances or prescriptions/over-the-counter-meds, so i doubt ecstacy will be there or it's chemical name, but it's useful for to check other (non-HIV) meds if and when you take them. I took some Ritalin and another time took some Adderall (both were on this system) and the results were as i mentioned above - they were increased by Norvir and maybe Reyataz, can't remember exactly. However i didnt notice anything sensation wise.