Read Now: Expert Opinions on HIV Cure Research

HIV Life >> Gay Men

Pages: 1
Pan

Reged: 03/05/07
Falling for someone HIV positive...
      #225652 - 03/05/07 03:35 PM

Hi,

This is my first time posting here. Well, I am 30-years-old and HIV negative. I always practice safer sex, with a low number of partners, and get tested regularly. Remaining negative is a really high priority for me.

Well, about one month ago I met this really wonderful guy. He's 42(but looks really good!), and I love everything about him. Well, two days ago we were making out and I thought we were, finally, going to have sex. Suddenly, before we started taking our clothes off, he disclosed that he was HIV positive. Needless to say I lost that loving feelin right then and there.

So we sorta got into a question and answer situation, and he was really good about being open and honest with me.

But, my issue is that I don't know how to be in a relationship with an HIV positive person. One, I'm scared of infection. I don't want to deal with the burden of the virus. I know that it isn't a death sentence, but I still don't want to be another statistic. Two, I can see myself spending my life with this person...What if he develops full blown AIDS and dies?
If he had told me earlier in the relationship admittedly I would have cut and ran...

But now I feel such an emotional connection to him. I really like this guy. I just don't know how to get over my fear of the virus.

Post Extras: Remind Me!   Notify Moderator  
MarkinNYC

Reged: 01/12/06
Loc: New York, NY
Re: Falling for someone HIV positive... new
      #225659 - 03/05/07 11:21 PM

You have chosen a difficult path to walk.

In a perfect world, it should NOT make any difference of course. But this world is not perfect and the fear is still justifiable and still real.