Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol
Read Now: TheBodyPRO.com Covers AIDS 2014

Ask the Experts About

Workplace and Insurance IssuesWorkplace and Insurance Issues

Rollover images to visit our other forums!
Recent AnswersAsk a Question

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

Should I tell?
Jul 27, 1998

I know this is a common question, but no one seems to have the same situation as me, so I hope you'll bear with me and try to answer it again.

I'm an attorney and work in a fairly pressured large law firm environment. I was diagnosed with HIV last fall and have done extremely well with medication. While I have missed hours here and there because of doctors appointments, I have not missed a single day of work.

Two months ago, my father became ill and passed away. The combination of HIV and losing a parent in 6 months has really affected every facet of my life. I'm fatigued, depressed, and much more bothered by side-effects from HIV meds than I was before.

I want to work and I want to play by the same rules as everyone else. But I realize my work has been greatly affected by my situation over the past few months. The quality, fortunately, seems to be as high as ever. But the quantity -- my total output and productivity -- has taken a nose-dive.

I'd like to think that I'm going to pull myself together and plug ahead. The thought of taking a month off under Family Medical Leave to get my head together is pretty appealing too.

My various supervisors, who all like me, must be wondering what in the world is going on with me. My billable hours, which they get a report on, for last month were awful.