Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol
Read Now: Expert Opinions on HIV Cure Research

Ask the Experts About

Workplace and Insurance IssuesWorkplace and Insurance Issues

Rollover images to visit our other forums!
Recent AnswersAsk a Question

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

Police Applicant is HIV+
Aug 24, 1998

I am a police officer applicant who is very close to being made an "offer of employment". I have only the psych and medical tests to complete. Altho I have known about my pal HIV for 6 years, I have been blessed with no major illnesses. I have been absent from my current job only 8 days over 6 years time. I realize the medical exam will include recretional drug testing...but will my current cocktail of Crixivan, 3TC, and AZT appear too...am I obligated to disclose my status?? A moral issue also concerns me: do I disclose my status for the sake of fellow officers and the public's safety? Can the Dept NOT hire me due to HIV?? I have rated 'above average' in all categories to date....Thanks

Response from Ms. Breuer