Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol
Read Now: TheBodyPRO.com Covers AIDS 2014

Ask the Experts About

Workplace and Insurance IssuesWorkplace and Insurance Issues

Rollover images to visit our other forums!
Recent AnswersAsk a Question

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

Forced HIV Disclosure by Random Drug Testing?
Feb 3, 1999

I work as a police officer, hence random drug testing is part of the job. I do feel, however, that my department's approach to listing all current meds taken is woefully lax. Can you point me to any legal references in such matters that could assist in having this issue tightened up in my department? I am hoping that it won't come down to a lawsuit having to show damage by this practice, it's stressful enough dealing with the HIV.

Response from Ms. Breuer

To respond to your question, I contacted the Personnel Division of the most responsible municipal employer I know on this issue, a small city here in California. This is what I learned from them: 1. If your concern is that the medications you take might show up in a random drug testing, my sources all said that is highly unlikely. Some over-the-counter medications may show up, such as Nytrol or some cold medications, but that's because some contain alcohol. (You probably already know that a poppy seed roll could trigger a drug test as well.) But antiretrovirals and protease inhibitors won't. And HIV only shows up when a direct test for HIV or its antibodies is done. In most states, you cannot be tested for HIV without your consent. Your pharmacist can tell you whether anything else you may be taking--beyond the drugs that fight HIV itself-- could trigger a drug test.