Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol
Read Now: Expert Opinions on HIV Cure Research

Ask the Experts About

Workplace and Insurance IssuesWorkplace and Insurance Issues

Rollover images to visit our other forums!
Recent AnswersAsk a Question

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

Relationship with coworker and confidentiality
Apr 19, 1999

I work in a major metropolitan area as an emergency medical technician, i was having a relationship with a co-worker and found out i had been infected with the hiv virus. I immediately informed my partner, who did not seroconvert, and now she has been telling people at work in an effort to cause a disparagate workplace and attempting to get me fired. I have filed with the EEOC and made complaints to my employer to no avail as of yet. This has been going on for two years now and im wondering if you have any other solutions you could recomend. Thanks

Response from Ms. Breuer

When you disclose your HIV status to a co-worker, it's not the same as disclosing to a supervisor or manager. The co-worker does not represent the employer the way a supervisor does. If the co-worker tells others, you don't have much control over that. Only when your employer discriminates against you on the basis of your HIV status can you take action. That may be why you are not getting a lot of action from your employer or the EEOC.