Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol
Read Now: Expert Opinions on HIV Cure Research

Ask the Experts About

Workplace and Insurance IssuesWorkplace and Insurance Issues

Rollover images to visit our other forums!
Recent AnswersAsk a Question

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

police
Nov 15, 2001

Thanks for your time. I'll try and kep it short but I tend to be a little verbose. Recently, I graduated from the police academy (top of my class), and I began applying for officer positions. The final step of employment in many CA, depts.is "successful completion of a department medical exam". I've been told this would include an HIV test. I'm scared to death. I've had risky sex before. Yet, my fear is not so much that of being infected, but not being able to be a cop if I should, unfortunately, test positive. I plan on getting tested anyways, but I wanted it to be more on my terms. My question is focused on the legal aspect. Is this type of pre-employment testing legal in CA? From my understanding Asymptomatic HIV infection is not protected under the ADA, therefore would there be a gap in protection from discrimination? What would successful completion of a pre-employment medical exam look like anyway? I mean if I was positive, but asymptomatic, wouldn't I still successfully complete the exam (everything else being fine medically)? And finally, should I test positive can you refer me to any legal assistance in CA? I just want to be a cop, and a role model, and I'm not even sure if I'm infected. Thanks for your time.

Response from Ms. Breuer