Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol
Read Now: Expert Opinions on HIV Cure Research

Ask the Experts About

Workplace and Insurance IssuesWorkplace and Insurance Issues

Rollover images to visit our other forums!
Recent AnswersAsk a Question

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

Needle Stick HIV/Hep exposure
Oct 23, 2001

Hello,

I am a newly hired ER tech. The other day I took a blood sample from an HIV+, Hep B+ patient. After incorrectly withdrawing the needle, the tip of it tapped my glove and i believe it pierced my skin, although i didn't feel any sharp sticks. 10 minutes later, I examined my hand and noticed a small red scratch/dot near where i suspect the needle tapped my glove. I waited so long bc i didn't suspect that the needle actually penetrated the glove, but after a few simulations i did after seeing the patient i realize that the needles are so sharp that a simple tap may indeed penetrate both glove and skin which is what i fear happened. I tried to bleed the wound at this time but no blood came out. Anyhow, i reported the needle-stick to empoyee health and they started me ona regimen of kaletra,stuvadine, and luvadine (not sure exactly how this last one is spelled) 3 hours post exposure. THey told me that it was a low risk stick but from a high risk patient with high viral loads. I am obviously concerned about what happened and was hoping you could give me an estimate of what the chances of seroconversion are in a high risk source and low risk stick (without scenario such as my own. btw, the needle-stick doctor said that i am on a different regiment than most (ie. AZT, etc) becuase her straing has become immune to those other treatments. Do i have to worry about the strain becoming immune to the regimen i am currently on?