Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol

Ask the Experts About

Workplace and Insurance IssuesWorkplace and Insurance Issues

Rollover images to visit our other forums!
Recent AnswersAsk a Question

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

IV
Sep 18, 2001

I am a nursing student and helped start an IV on a HIV and HCV/HBV positive individual. Some blood was on his arm from the catheter, so I wiped it up (gloves on) and then took them off. Following this, I helped tape the IV down on the same arm (without gloves). Although there was not any visible blood still there (I think) and I had no visible cuts on my hands (I think) i am still concerned about the risk of contracting HIV or HCV from a situation like this. I washed my hands after the encounter thoroughly. What is your opinion of any transmission risk and are there any documented cases of something like this that you know of? I am fairly sure that if there was blood contact it was with not enough to actually see and on skin with no significant wounds. Thanks

Response from Ms. Breuer

Thank you for providing enough detail for a thorough response. What you describe sounds like a situation in which it is highly unlikely that you came into contact with any bloodborne pathogen. And even if you did, you did the best thing you could possibly have done by washing carefully with soap and water. Since there was no visible blood and you washed well right away, I think you just walked through an important stage in your own professional education without actually risking infection.