Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol
Read Now: TheBodyPRO.com Covers AIDS 2014

Ask the Experts About

Workplace and Insurance IssuesWorkplace and Insurance Issues

Rollover images to visit our other forums!
Recent AnswersAsk a Question

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

drug testing
Mar 13, 2000

Ms.Breuer: I am a nurse practitioner who was recently offered a position by a detox center/drug rehab facility. As per their pre-employment policies, I underwent their mandatory drug testing (urine) procedure. I provided them with a list of the medications that I take (sustiva, zerit, epivir,videx, naldolol, aldactone, and trazadone). After about a week I received a call that my urine was found to be positive for cannabis and methamphetamine. I have never in my life used methamphetamine and have not smoked pot in years. While I understand their unwillingness to hire someone who tests positive for drugs, I am mystified by why my urine tested positive for these substances. The bottom line is that they said they cannot hire me. I stressed to them that there must have been some error but both the center and the lab who did the test said that they stand by their results. I asked if I could repeat the test which was refused. This witch trial logic of theirs concerns me since I have no recourse. By disclosing the meds I am on, I obviously disclosed my HIV+ status. Is there anything I can do in the future to comply with company drug testing and protect my professional reputation (and licensure) while I'm job searching? Thank you.

Response from Ms. Breuer