Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol
Read Now: TheBodyPRO.com Covers AIDS 2014

Ask the Experts About

Workplace and Insurance IssuesWorkplace and Insurance Issues

Rollover images to visit our other forums!
Recent AnswersAsk a Question

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

Police Officer
Jun 28, 2014

I have been a police officer here in Florida for nearly 20 years with the same department, we have hundreds of employees at our department. I found out that I was HIV+ last year and due to having great benefits have received great care and meds. I am doing well and my health never decreased. I never missed any time away from work and I have never called out sick. I took the test last year as a precaution, in my field you can never be to sure. As I have responded to many scenes in the past where blood was everywhere, crimes scenes, traffic crashed, injured assault victims, etc etc. I will spare you the horrific details. I have not disclosed my status to anyone other than my wife. We made a decision together not to tell anyone else, not family, friends or co- workers. Unfortunately, in my field of work. There are unfair stereotypes associated with those who are HIV, I have done some research and can't find any information about other police officers in Florida who are HIV positive. We have a policy at our department that states we must advise our supervisor if we have a communicable disease, I thought this would be illegal under HIPPA. The best info I have found deals with medical professionals who provide evasive procedures. Do I have to tell my Chief that I am POZ? Is there any recourse for me with proving I was exposed on the job? I always used gloves when doing CPR and continue to abide by universal precautions, I would rather just deal with it on my own and at this time can't think of any reason to tell anyone. I am also loc