Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol

Ask the Experts About

Workplace and Insurance IssuesWorkplace and Insurance Issues

Rollover images to visit our other forums!
Recent AnswersAsk a Question

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

i'm thinking of getting off ssdi but dont think i can
Apr 10, 2012

Hi here is the deal i have been on ssdi for at least 10 years now. I have had a full blown Aids diagnosis for about 12 years. what i have been doing for the past 7 years is going to school and working part time as a nurses AID in home care. I just got my second Associate degree in December. Friday i took my state boards and now i am an licensed RN. I have been living in an apartment with my mother for the past 12 years and sadly my mother died from a massive stroke!!1 its horrible and i am heart broken.. i am broke this apartment is too expensive. i am not in public housing nor do i want to move into public housing ... i work in public housing and i am sorry it is not for me ! my school loans will be due soon. my question is can i afford to go off ssdi? is there a shut off for ADAP? and will i even be able to work full time? my back is ruined from this job. my legs hurt all the time? i was thinking mom would live till 95-110 instead of 84.. she was very healthy... i can put off my loans by going for my BSN at an online university, which is what i planned on doing anyway.. can you help me? I am kinda in a panic here.. what happens if i find i cant do the job or workload? or i get sick? can i go back on ssdi or will i be homeless...i am 50 and i live in Rhode Island...please help and thanks Tom M. RN

Response from Mr. Chambers

Tom, first congratulations on becoming an RN. That's quite an accomplishment, especially given all you have gone through. Also, my condolences on the loss of your mother.