Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol
  Breaking News: FDA Approves Triumeq, New Once-Daily Combination Pill

Ask the Experts About

Workplace and Insurance IssuesWorkplace and Insurance Issues

Rollover images to visit our other forums!
Recent AnswersAsk a Question

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

how can i make a difference?
Feb 28, 2012

As a person living with HIV i feel wasted, for despite being a graduate i have had to go for the last seven years without any form of employment. but i have the capacity to change people for the better using the vast knowledge i have on HIV and AIDS. Please hold my hand and show me the direction to go and fund raise to make it real.

Response from Mr. Chambers

I certainly understand your frustration. So many of us depended on our work for our sense of usefulness, our participation in society, even our identity. It's difficult to give that up, without feelings of withdrawal and depression.

I am assuming that you are collecting some form of disability, either private disability insurance or Social Security Disability or both. Almost all plans have some options to allow you to do some work without losing your benefits. Obviously, you should know the rules well before attempting such work.

However, even for my clients who want to try to return to work, I strongly recommend you consider some type of volunteer work. Just giving some of your time helping others you can not only feel helpful and increase your feelings of self-worth.

Wherever you live there are sure to be opportunities to contribute through volunteering some of your time and expertize. The best place to start is to assess your abilities and what population you would like to assist.