Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol

Ask the Experts About

Workplace and Insurance IssuesWorkplace and Insurance Issues

Rollover images to visit our other forums!
Recent AnswersAsk a Question

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

Open Enrollment Options
May 16, 2011

I have been working for the same company for 5 years. Our open enrollment period will begin within the next few weeks. Our fiscal year begins on September 1. I tested positive six months ago. I am currently covered under my companys group health and life insurance policy and dental plan. My insurance policy is a small $25,000 policy. This fiscal year I elected to set up a flexible spending account in the amount of $600. It has really helped to meet my co-pays when visiting my doctors. The other benefits available to employees are Short and Long Term Disability, Cancer Insurance, Vision Insurance and Health Flexible Spending Account. My questions are as follows: 1. Will I be able to increase my life insurance benefit/coverage? 2. Under current law/policy, would I qualify for short or long term disability? 3. Will I still be able to set up a flexible spending account? I would greatly appreciate a response as soon as possible! Thank you for all the guidance and assistance you and your colleagues provide on the forums!

Response from Ms. Franzoi