Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol
Read Now: Expert Opinions on HIV Cure Research

Ask the Experts About

Workplace and Insurance IssuesWorkplace and Insurance Issues

Rollover images to visit our other forums!
Recent AnswersAsk a Question

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

Child at school
Feb 26, 2007

I am a teacher in a preschool classroom. It has come to my attention that one of our students is HIV positive the parents did not disclose this information, however. I have no intention of invading their privacy but I would like to arm myself with information. (Small children love to kiss each other's "boo-boos", etc.) Is there anything I should be aware of to help her in case of injury? To protect the other 3-6 year olds in the room?

Response from Ms. Breuer

Good questions. The best information you can arm yourself with is information about transmission written directly to elementary school personnel, because it takes children's typical behavior into account.

The best way to help, in my opinion, is to teach children what to do about blood--anyone's. Small children need to know that they should not touch someone else's blood (including kissing boo-boos), and that if they see someone bleeding, their job is to alert an adult right away. When the adult shows up, the adult should model responsible behavior around blood by gloving before touching anyone.

They can learn that Band-Aids and other kinds of bandages have two jobs: to keep the wound clean and to keep blood off of other people and surfaces. There are lots of creative ways to work this information into lesson plans, including finger painting the right way to do things, so the message gets into muscles as well as into brains.