Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol

Ask the Experts About

Workplace and Insurance IssuesWorkplace and Insurance Issues

Rollover images to visit our other forums!
Recent AnswersAsk a Question

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

Planning to Work as a NURSE but with Positive Skin Test for TB & NEGATIVE Chest x-ray result
Aug 28, 2006

I NEED HELP!!! I am a registered nurse from the philippines & have migrated to the USA (Feb 2006). I underwent a complete medical examination (Jan 19, 2006) required by the US embassy in Manila (St. Luke's Extension Clinic) & have passed all the medical test, including the chest x-ray, the reason why I was approved for the migration. I never had any problem with my yearly medical in my country (we have a mandatory annual physical examination) but no skin test examination. I was informed by a friend who works a nurse here that it is mandatory for all nurses to undergo skin test for TB, so before applying for a nurse position, I tried to have it & be tested. IT TURNS OUT TO BE POSITIVE (+). I was seen by a doctor from Houston Texas & have examined my chest x-ray taken last Jan 2006 to see if it is possible for me to have another chest x-ray or even further medical evaluation & management. After evaluating my x-ray, he says I should not go on with the skin test exam in the future for it will turn all positive result. He told me I don't need a new chest x-ray. I also ask him if I need to undergo a prophylaxis (drug treatment) & he says "NO"! He just gave me a certification that I have a positive (+) skin test & negative (-) chest x-ray & currently asymptomatic. He told me if I will be ask to undergo another chest x-ray, then I should submit myself to the request.

MY QUESTION (S):

1. CAN I WORK HERE AS A NURSE now that I have a positive skin test for TB but with negative chest x-ray result ?