Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol
  Breaking News: FDA Approves Triumeq, New Once-Daily Combination Pill

Ask the Experts About

Workplace and Insurance IssuesWorkplace and Insurance Issues

Rollover images to visit our other forums!
Recent AnswersAsk a Question

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

Gay HIV POZ Law Enforcement Officer
Jul 14, 2005

I read the body web site on a regular basis and pay attention to all the issues but exspecially this forum. I see so much confusion about issues related to privacy and work that I thought I would share this with your readers.

I was diagnosed with AIDS almost three years. I did not receive an HIV diagnosis but an AIDS diagnosis. I work full time as a law enforcement officer and have for 12 years. I started getting sick and by the time I went to the doc I had developed PCP as well as had lost 30 pounds. Everyone around realized I looked bad and generally had that sick person look so the rumors started. I went to the doc was diagnosed and within two weeks was in the hospital.

I lost so much weight and was sick for the most of an year. My employer during this time was great. The command staff as well as the fellow officers I work with came by to see me in the hospital and when i went home. They helped me and I was told by our human resources director who came to see me not to worry about health insurance or leave just concentrate on getting well. So even though I did not initally disclose my HIV/AIDS status to my employer I had a great response from them when I was so sick.