Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol

Ask the Experts About

Workplace and Insurance IssuesWorkplace and Insurance Issues

Rollover images to visit our other forums!
Recent AnswersAsk a Question

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

company attacked by competitor using MY medical history!
Nov 21, 2004

I work as a manager for a small distributor of a specific application industrial machine. It is a close business with fierce competition. I have earned a reputation in this specific field.

I was diagnosed in 2001 and spent much of the next two years in personal and company battles but since I have returned to full health, earned promotions, and have the full support of my company up the ladder.

However during this same period our market changed. Two employees that were involved in illegal business practice with a former manager (since fired) have left and went to work for a direct competitor. Several contracted salespeople changed their affiliation to the competitor.

The two employees were informed of my condition formally with notice of privacy (I have informed the corporate and then individual employees) during their employment with my company.