Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol
Read Now: Expert Opinions on HIV Cure Research

Ask the Experts About

Workplace and Insurance IssuesWorkplace and Insurance Issues

Rollover images to visit our other forums!
Recent AnswersAsk a Question

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

HIV & 1st AId
Nov 18, 2004

Hi all, Three Qs in one here sorry, I work as a volunteer co-ordinator in developing countries and am responsible for the saftey and welfare of up to 15 young volunteers at a time. I am required to provide basic first aid for them in an emergency situation, but being HIV+ I do not know what I should do differently to avoid transmission? I know tranmission is extremely unlikely for basic CPR etc but we are often involved in dangerous situations where my 1st Aid skills are essential. What if I am injured, and they try to assist me?? Do these volunteers (for whom I have a duty of care) have a right to know my status?? (For legal reasons beyond me, my organistaion requires a HIV test from the volunteers, so it seems only fair). Lastly I have had trouble in the past entering Peru and Kenya not having had my yellow-fever vacc. I have a medical cert but it rarely helps, as I have been living in high-risk areas. There must be a way for me to get a safe YF vacc??? I'm undetectable, no treatment yet, T 380, 24yrs... my doc thinks it's too risky, but I think it's too risky not too??? Any thoughts are ENOURMOUSLY appreciated, Kind thanks, Lachlan

Response from Ms. Breuer

Dear Lachlan,

Wow! You DO have questions. Fortunately, we have suggestions.