Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol

Ask the Experts About

Workplace and Insurance IssuesWorkplace and Insurance Issues

Rollover images to visit our other forums!
Recent AnswersAsk a Question

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

Starting over with career after AIDS diagnosis
Jun 2, 2004

I was diagnosed January 27th of 2003 with AIDS. At that time I had a cd4 count of 50 PCP and weighed 137 pounds. I was in the hospital for a few weeks, started a drug regime and all recovered well. Before my diagnosis I did not realize I was sick and had never been that sick in my life. I was really on my death bed and many things changed for me.

I have a great employer. I am a police officer and my agency saw me getting sick stood by me in hospital and has been there with me every step after my diagnosis. Yes the Chief and command staff are aware of my diagnosis and I am not the only poz officer within the agency. I have great insurance a great doc and my health is very good. Now with that said my question.

I am 32 years old at the half way point in my retirement ( i ll be able to fully retire in 12 years with benefits) but I want more than this job. Until I got so sick I thought being a cop was all I wanted now though I realize there are other things I want to do. I honestly have always knew if the cop job did not work out I would want to do something in the medical field. Maybe paramedic or nurse or something. Now I find myself thinking about just quiting and going back to college so I can pursue a second career. I am sure people around my age change careers all the time but with my need for insurance I do not know if it would be a wise move.