Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol

Ask the Experts About

Workplace and Insurance IssuesWorkplace and Insurance Issues

Rollover images to visit our other forums!
Recent AnswersAsk a Question

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

HIV Questions @ Medical Exam
Apr 14, 2004

I have over 15 years experience at a company that was acquired by a larger corp. I have been HIV + for 10 years (symptom-free).

The corp offered me 'conditional employment' upon completion of a medical review. At the corp. medical center, I disclosed my HIV status.

The medical form states 'we are unable to issue a disposition at this time. Please have your Dr contact us for further consideration.' Comments: 'HIV - current status + meds. Any limitations or restrictions?'

I have received a letter rescinding the offer of employment.

How do I determine where the discrimination took place ( med review or HR)?

Response from Ms. Breuer

You must have felt pressured to reveal your status, but you didn't have to. I've keyed this in many times, and I'll key it in many times more: the appropriate, legal question is "Do you have any condition that would prevent you from fulfilling the essential functions of this job" or something to that effect. Yes/No. Your diagnosis is your business.

Now that it's an issue, one that you disclosed, it seems to me that your job is to follow through, keep GREAT notes, check in with an HIV-knowledgeable attorney (just one letter on his/her letterhead about your rights should be enough to derail an inappropriate termination) and coach your doc. Your doc should answer all questions about your condition in terms of your functional limitations--those things that you cannot be expected to do--rather than in terms of your diagnosis.