Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol
Read Now: TheBodyPRO.com Covers AIDS 2014

Ask the Experts About

Workplace and Insurance IssuesWorkplace and Insurance Issues

Rollover images to visit our other forums!
Recent AnswersAsk a Question

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

You are wrong about HIV in the military
Oct 11, 2003

Hello, I read a recent question you answered about an Air Force capt who was diagnosed with HIV. I am a current Army soldier, and I wanted to let you know that the military's policy is that you cannot initially join the military with HIV, but if you test positive for it once you are in, you are allowed to stay in. You will not be able to deploy overseas, but you can stay here in the US. You can continue your enlistment as long as you would like, until you get too sick to do your job. There used to be a prohibition on HIV+ military members, but it was repealed in.

Please see the third paragraph on this link that explains the policy

http://www.thebody.com/cdc/news_updates_archive/nov25_02/us_military_hiv.html

Here is the question that you answered:

HIV positive/military

Posted: Sep 12, 2003

Hi,