Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol

Ask the Experts About

Workplace and Insurance IssuesWorkplace and Insurance Issues

Rollover images to visit our other forums!
Recent AnswersAsk a Question

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

Switching Jobs and Insurance
Feb 13, 2003

I have currently worked at my present employer for nearly 2 years. I have great insurance thru them. A group plan. I am considering switching jobs. I am a nurse and most places here in Texas, offer nurses insurance on the first day of the following month of your employment hire date. (say i get hired april 10th, my insurance would begin May 1st). I have read the previous questions regarding pre-existing clause. My diagosis date is less than the time of how long i have been carried by my current employers insurance coverage. I am just wondering what problems or would i still be able to be covered by any insurance company if i do not have the 63 day break in coverage? I do understand that i would have to get a cert. of insurance from my former (soon to be) employer.

Thank You.

T in Texas

Response from Ms. Franzoi