Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol
  Breaking News: FDA Approves Triumeq, New Once-Daily Combination Pill

Ask the Experts About

Workplace and Insurance IssuesWorkplace and Insurance Issues

Rollover images to visit our other forums!
Recent AnswersAsk a Question

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

Small company group insurance and disclosure
Oct 10, 2002

Thank you for this excellent resource! I am a HIV+ physician who recently joined (1 month)a small group private practice. Its time to fill out insurance forms and I have become paralyzed with fear by the question: Have I been diagnosed with HIV/AIDS. I want to be truthful, but I like to know what the implications of disclosure for me and others in the company, my options, and a recommended course of action. Thank you

Response from Ms. Breuer

If the insurance form actually asks that precise question, you run enormous risks by lying. If a lie on an insurance application is discovered, you can be held liable for all premiums and all payments they may have made on your behalf. So don't lie.

But I would encourage you to ask why the question is there. Or to write into the blank, "Why is this question here?" Employers cannot legally discriminate against employees based on their HIV status,and once the employer knows, the employer can be accused of misusing the information.

Does the completed form go to someone within the practice? To the insurance company without someone in the practice seeing it? If you're willing to raise some questions, you could be helping many more people than yourself. Just the fact that a question appears on a form doesn't mean the question is legal. Or helpful. Or wise for the employer to be asking.