Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol
Read Now: TheBodyPRO.com Covers AIDS 2014

Ask the Experts About

Workplace and Insurance IssuesWorkplace and Insurance Issues

Rollover images to visit our other forums!
Recent AnswersAsk a Question

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

Job Performance Issues
Jan 14, 2002

Hi -

Thanks for your contributions. Over the last year I have felt progresseively worse. In Sept. and Oct. I had pnuemonia twice and then tested HIV+ with a 149 CD4 count (13). I also had thrush and eyesight problems although CMV not diagnosed. I'm on meds now and feeling some what better although it varies day to day. I'm a manager in our Information Technology dept., fairly high up, and considered a key employee which means a high degree of responsibility. To do my joy I work about 70 hours a week, seven days, all hours, on call always. I worked all through the pnuemonia, barely, and through the holidays. The stress is enormous and I'm sure is affecting my health and ability to maintain. Some days I'm either so tired, or distracted, or nauseated it is hard to get through. Anything that brings attention at work to my status is going to result eventually in me getting terminated. I can't envision how they would accomodate changes to my job for me to continue to do it, and I am concerned that continuing as is will result in my performance degrading seriously also resulting in termination which to me is not good due to loss of benefits. I want to be prepared in advance to take the appropriate actions to best protect myself - insurance, short/long term disability, etc. I've asked to hire help at work and told no. We are downsizing and business is down, on top of being in the midst of a merger. There is no indication conditions at work will change. Also, I help take care of my elderly and disabled parents which is very str