Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol

Ask the Experts About

Workplace and Insurance IssuesWorkplace and Insurance Issues

Rollover images to visit our other forums!
Recent AnswersAsk a Question

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

Absenteeism and Partnership
Nov 14, 2000

Let me say that this is a very informative resource; one I wish I had visited when I first seroconverted in May of this year. I am a physician employee of The Permanente Medical Group, the physician arm of Kaiser Permanente. I come before the group in 8 months for a preliminary partnership vote, then a final partnership vote a year later. Recently a memo was circulated stating that the average yearly sick leave for physicians in the group was 2 days (maximum permitted under contract, 24 days) and encouraged physicians to keep it that way in order to control costs. I have already exceeded the average, only 6 months into my diagnosis, for doctor's appointments and actually being sick. I am feeling well now, but I have come to work much more often than I ought to have done when I'm not feeling well, because I am afraid that my group will begin to suspect that something is wrong if I take more time off. This is my question: should I make Human Resources aware that I am a person with a disability, and put them on notice, so to speak, that I will be taking more than the average time off? When the partnership votes come up, I am afraid that the fact that I have a higher-than-average sick leave usage will adversely impact the decision. I wonder if by making HR aware early, that I improve my chances a)for this not to happen or b)for successful litigation later on if I suspect that I am in fact discriminated against on this basis.

Thank you

Joe

Response from Ms. Breuer