Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol

Ask the Experts About

Workplace and Insurance IssuesWorkplace and Insurance Issues

Rollover images to visit our other forums!
Recent AnswersAsk a Question

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

HIV exposure on the job?
Nov 17, 2000

Hi. I am a med student who in July bagged vials of blood obtained from blood drawing for lab tests. Now, I am usually fastidious about wearing gloves and taking other protective measures, but due to stress and simply being busy (first med job experience), this time I did not (wear gloves).

One tube had a sticker: "ATTN so-and-so; HIV LABORATORY. I'd seen this sticker before, so the likelihood is that this was a HIV TEST vial. AS FAR AS MY FALLIBLE MEMORY permits, all i did was to pick up the tube and stuff it into the bag -- but am scared of inadvertent contact with rubber top? something I don't remember? could there be external bloodstains? what are overall risks?

I didn't give the episode any further thought that day (but I may have simply been too busy), but mid-August it popped back into my head. I have been tested at the end of Aug and Sept, standard ELISA/Western blot, and both were negative, but want to know what were my risks from the outset. My three month mark is coming up in a few weeks.

Also, I am afraid to trust the results -- I have heard of false positives and negatives, etc. Do you have figures as to the sensitivity and specificity of these tests? How much should I worry? Does the 1, 3, 6 month algorithm apply here? Please someone point me in the right direction and give me a course of action. I am afraid that if I do have HIV I might have already infected others before realizing. I have been unable to think of anything else for months. Quality of life is going to hell with the worry. Please guide.