Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol
Read Now: TheBodyPRO.com Covers AIDS 2014

Ask the Experts About

Choosing Your MedsChoosing Your Meds

Rollover images to visit our other forums!
Recent AnswersAsk a Question

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

Depressed and Need Some Reassurance? Anxiety is really killing me!!!!!!!!
Aug 19, 2001

Dear Dr Cal Cohen,

Thank you for all the support that you and your colleagues provide on this highly educational web site for those affected by HIV/AIDS.

I was infected about three years ago and I am not on any medications at the moment!!! My doctor has said that I can still wait further to get treated!! My viral load is 2500 and CD4 is 450!!

I am only 25 and I have had an excellent education!!! I have an MBA!! I come from a very affluent background!! I have been spoiled rotten by my parents all my life!! I never thought I can be infected with HIV because I was so careful with sex except with one person, this person I trusted most at one stage of my life ( My ex girlfriend while at University) passed the virus on to me without knowing!! When I found out I was absolutely shocked and gutted !! I was so so depressed!! I had my whole life ahead of me!! There has been times I wanted to end my life!!! I have always practised safe sex, I have never taken any drugs, I don't smoke and I enjoy sports such as golf, tennis and rugby! I come from a rich family and to some extent they found it hard to believe and accept at first!! but they eventually did!! I guess I am luckier than some others who don't have access to good medical care as I do!! But what really depresses me most is when I read around the internet about how the pharmaceutical is going cold towards developing more potent drugs in combating HIV and how they are going cold on trying to find a cure for HIV!! In one report I read scientists be