Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol

Ask the Experts About

Choosing Your MedsChoosing Your Meds

Rollover images to visit our other forums!
Recent AnswersAsk a Question

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

switching from norvir & azt & protease inhibitors
Jan 26, 2004

DEAR DR. LEE, i have all the adverse side effects of norvir and found dictionary.com as a site to give me their definitions. now, i know that adverse side effects can and are caused by everything & companies put contradictory side effects down: bulemia, anorexia; insomnia, tiredness; elation, depression. they cover all the basis. i plan to go on a 3-day structure drug interruption from norvir to see if any of those effects subside. Is 3 days enough. i have apnea, dyspnea, et al (see Dictionary.com for definitions.i've been doing haphazard interruptions since 1990, but with the stronger meds comes stronger side effects. i want quality of life, not quantity. What is the most simple least-side-effective cocktail, excluding AZT.I LOVE EPIVIR and can you tell me why everyone seems to be resistant to it when in effect it really works whether tests say one is resistant to epivir or not. Epivir seems to be the most "resistant" drug press-wise. i hate protease inhibitors or any strong drugs. What are the simplest, weakest drug cocktails that i can look into? this is not an easy question to answer.

Response from Dr. Lee

The side effects which occur with the protease inhibitors (or other medications) are sometimes very uncomfortable or even harmful. Certainly each individual must weigh the pluses (controlling HIV and perhaps living longer) with the minuses (including any uncomfortable or more serious side effects) of using these medications.