Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol

Ask the Experts About

Spiritual Support and HIVSpiritual Support and HIV

Rollover images to visit our other forums!
Recent AnswersAsk a Question

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

should I stay or should I go?
Apr 22, 1998

PLease help ME! I'm a graduate student who is engaged to a man I thought loved me. I went out of town for research, and came back to find out he has been developing strong feelings for someone else. He says he

hasn't done anything about it, and this girl was a friend

of mine who was using our "friendship" to get close to him.

We agreed to work it out on 4 conditions: 1) he did not

lie to me about what was going on (he didn't want to hurt

me and wanted to keep it inside) 2) He did not see her

anymore 3) we got conseling and worked on his recent

issues of depression. FOr you see about that time he started sleeping all the time, drinking (which he never had done before), not caring about his appearence, and begging me to stay.

After a week I decided to trust him again and I believe

that he is my God given mate. He lied to me and saw her.

I found out from his mother. Who wants to be involved in

this more than she should. She's on heavy mind drugs and

views Andrew as her only thing in life. I know he's a little

gun shy of marriage which, is why I'm not rushing it at all.

I told him we should not beengaged right now. His friends

have mostly twisted relationships and bad marraiges.

When I was away one of his friends (the brother of this