Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol

Ask the Experts About

Spiritual Support and HIVSpiritual Support and HIV

Rollover images to visit our other forums!
Recent AnswersAsk a Question

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

HIV Positive Doctors: should they still work?
Mar 13, 1997

My name is Tanya and I am a student in hospitality. For one of my classes the students are required to do a debate on Doctors should be able to work in the medical field if they have tested positive for HIV, I am pro for this topic. I need some help with this topic. I at first had mixed emotions. My first reaction was that no they should not be able to work in the medical field. My second reaction way hey do doctors give up on their patients when they find out they're positive? No, doctors don't give up. They put themselves at risk everyday. So why should we give up on them. What I am looking for is just some advice on how to go about this topic. When I do the debate I want I it to be powerful and I want to get across to the audience the seriousness of HIV and the truth that lays behind it. So if you have any advice to give me please do any advice would be appreciated. Thank You Tanya

Response from Rev. Pieters