Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol
Read Now: Expert Opinions on HIV Cure Research

Ask the Experts About

Managing Side Effects of HIV TreatmentManaging Side Effects of HIV Treatment

Rollover images to visit our other forums!
Recent AnswersAsk a Question

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

after adding combivir lipodystrophy is kicked in to high gear
May 16, 2000

I am currently on amprenavir,sustiva,combivir ziagen and norvir. Before adding in combivir I had little or no facial wasting. Even with all of these drugs I still have a viral load of 2,500. I have had 8 years of experience on azt/3tc. but my dr. re-introduced it my regime 2 years ago. Since that time my face has really begun to waste. From my research it seems to me that combivir is probably of no value(probably resistant at this point).I would like to stop it because it seems that it has really contributed to facial wasting. my testosterone is low normal. do you have any suggestions. I can't bear being disfigured. Its getting to the point were I'm giving up. can you offer me any advice.please help

Response from Dr. Boyle