Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol

Ask the Experts About

Managing Side Effects of HIV TreatmentManaging Side Effects of HIV Treatment

Rollover images to visit our other forums!
Recent AnswersAsk a Question

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

Recidivant skin coccigeal lesion
Jul 1, 2011

Sir, i am an italian doctor, 49yo, HIV+ since 1987.

During years i experimented all possible medical drugs for my disease, with actual 0 viral load and very good quality of life.Except for one thing: an exuding skin lesion. It is recurrent in the same area ( sacral-coccygeal skin area). It tends to increase theexuding, inflammation and size. It is still there.for the umpteenth time, and after a biopsy and two radical excisions , and showing no signs at all to heal. The features are exactly the same as all other lesions that I have persecuted in the past 7-8 years. In early onset it looks like a small subcutaneous swelling, with itching and mild discomfort. The onset was almost always resulting in stress and symptoms suggesting a pseudo-herpetic event . Neither acyclovir nor its alternatives molecules, or antibiotics, or antiviral ganciclovir, however, have never had any effect on the course.

These small cysts opened eventually to the outside constantly releasing exudative material but never pus.

The first biopsy showed no specific granulomatous tissue characteristics and was positive for herpes simplex virus type II. At first, these lesions had a down trend and often regressed completely, leaving the skin intact. Following the incidents have increased both as frequency and duration. In the last three years has never occurred any regression until surgical excision.