Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol

Ask the Experts About

Managing Side Effects of HIV TreatmentManaging Side Effects of HIV Treatment

Rollover images to visit our other forums!
Recent AnswersAsk a Question

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

Marijuana and Atripla (Suicidal/Depression)
Aug 5, 2009

Hello: I have been taking Atripla for about 6 or 7 months. To be frank, I started smoking a new "batch" of marijuana about 2 months ago. (I've been smoking pot for over 10 years, daily). Since this new "stuff", I have been increasingly depressed and thoughts of suicide are making way too much sense to me. I'm not delusional, suicide just seems to make sense. I was smoking a different strain and having no side effects at all prior to a couple of months ago. I also was in a significant car wreck about 2 months ago also.(not while high and not my fault, I was hit while stopped). Honestly, I don't want to stop smoking as so many things have been taken away from me because of HIV (no dairy, blood sugar is out of whack so not too much sugar, my lipids and cholesterol are high because of norvir/reyataz/truvada, no alcohol as it just makes me feel like heck, quit smoking cigarettes after 20 years for obvious reasons). My doctor has stopped the Atripla to see if these feelings are related to the medication. He does not know of the pot and would totally freak out. I had an ID Dr. for 20 years in a big city that knew of it and didn't discourage it but I now live in a small town and my newest Dr. is my only option for an ID doc.