Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter 
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol

Ask the Experts About

Managing Side Effects of HIV TreatmentManaging Side Effects of HIV Treatment

Rollover images to visit our other forums!

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

Sustiva & Combid Causing Symptoms Similiar to ARS?
Jun 25, 2008

Dr. Henry, Please help. I'm a college student in a foreign place.

I started PEP (2x daily Combid & 1 daily Stocrin) 46 hrs after a high risk encounter with a Thai Sex Worker (MSW).

At day 2 of PEP, I went back to the hospital because of the appearance of the macupapular rash typical with Stocrin/Sustiva. At the time I had tenderness in my chest armpit area. 1)Is it typical for the meds I am taking? 2)Is this typical for the appearance of the virus?

It has now been 15 days since exposure and yesterday, I experienced what i thought was a fever (hot in the face and body) and it quickly diminished after about 30 minutes but my back remained hot for a good hour. During this time I noticed a singular macupapular eruption (red and blotchier than before) on my chest. It went away this morning. I had been drinking late at night before taking the stocrin (for maybe 4 days prior)... 4) is this likely to cause a re-occurence of such side effects? 5)Is it likely that the fever/hot flash is something from the medication??

6)Also, is there any research on PEP having an affect on ARS symptoms?

7)If I do test positive later, what implications will my PEP treatment have on the progression of the virus? Is it good that I am taking it early ?

I am very scared and alone in Thailand. Thank you for taking ttime to help me.

Response from Dr. Henry