Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol
Read Now: TheBodyPRO.com Covers AIDS 2014

Ask the Experts About

Managing Side Effects of HIV TreatmentManaging Side Effects of HIV Treatment

Rollover images to visit our other forums!
Recent AnswersAsk a Question

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

fuzeon bioinjector trauma???????
May 29, 2006

I have been on Fuzeon injections for approximately 3 years not beginning in a study at that time. 6 months ago I switched to the bioinjector as the next level of treatment reportedly making it simpler and needle-free etc. Last week I gave myself my regular Fuzeon injection at 9pm just like I have been doing for the last 6 months. Up to this point I had very little to no reaction or problems. At about 1AM I was awakened by excruciating pain in my leg at the injection site and quickly traveling up and down my leg. Since it was Monday AM I waited until 9 AM to call anyone. Initially I called the company Bioject technology as listed in the paperwork given to me with the bioinjector. Needless to say I received no response. BY then the pain, swelling, brusing etc. was unbearable so I called my physician. He advised to come in to his office immediately which I did. He immediately sent me to the hospital for a CT scan and it was confirmed that I had a hematoma hemorrhage in to my right leg. The instructions were to go home elevate the leg, keep ice on it and rest it as much as possible. That was two weeks ago. I am just beginning to regain some use of the leg and the excruciating pain which I have been feeling for the last 2 weeks has slowly begun to subside. Throughout this entire time frame I was never contacted by the company to indicate any sense of comfort or relief. They only seemed to be concerned with the possibility of a defective biojector. My question is I guess is who can I talk to? ie. Has