Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol

Ask the Experts About

Managing Side Effects of HIV TreatmentManaging Side Effects of HIV Treatment

Rollover images to visit our other forums!
Recent AnswersAsk a Question

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

Switching from Sustiva + Truvada to Viramune + Truvada
Apr 6, 2006

Hello and thank you so much for contributing your time, knowledge and experience to so many people.

I have been taking Sustiva and Truvada for about a year now and have always had difficulty staying asleep with this regimen. In addition, I feel like I'm not quite myself since taking this combination. My mind is somewhat cloudy, I'm less confident and kind of agitated at times. I work in the computer field and there are occasions when I have to respond to some issue in the middle of the night - which terrifies me because a few times I've had to go into the office in the middle of the night and I've been in a complete mental fog - barley able to produce a cohesive thought.

I was hoping the effects would wear off over time, but after a year there does not appear to be an end in sight.

I am considering a switch to Viramune and Truvada but am worried about Viramune possibly being more risky in terms of developing resistance than Sustiva.

Can you please provide any insight or opinions you may have regarding this? I would love to get off of ther Sustiva and get my brain feeling back to normal, but I certainly don't want to risk a greater chance of resistance.

Thanks very much for your help.

Response from Dr. Henry