Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol

Ask the Experts About

Managing Side Effects of HIV TreatmentManaging Side Effects of HIV Treatment

Rollover images to visit our other forums!
Recent AnswersAsk a Question

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

Human Bites
Apr 29, 2005

Dear Doctor Conway,

I am a Police Officer in a Rural Upstate New York county. Recently I was bitten by homeless man, on the inside of my left ankle, while trying to subdue him during an arrest. The subject bit through my sock and broke the skin on my ankle causing some bruising and slight bleeding caused by a pinch of his front teeth. This happened in front of a Hospital Emergency Room where I quickly received prompt cleaning and treatment. I was given a tetanus shot and I also had a baseline blood test for HIV drawn that day. I was subsequently put on antibiotics to prevent any possible infections. The ER doctor told me that this was such an extremely low risk for an HIV infection, that he advised me against any taking the pills that are supposed to prevent HIV. He said these can cause unwarranted complications. The ER doctor said he was more worried about other possible infections from his mouth. The subject told me that he did not have hepatitis or HIV. The ER doctor that examined this subject, soon after this happened, determined that no blood or cuts were visibly present in his mouth. The doctor did note that the subject's teeth were very unclean and rotted. The subject did give his consent, that day, to take an HIV test and to give me the results, which I subsequently found out were negative for HIV and Hepatitis. The doctor told me that the chances of contracting HIV in this manner, from an actual HIV infected person, was extremely remote and told me not to worry about it especially since his HIV and hepatitis test came back negative. One of my con