Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol
Read Now: TheBodyPRO.com Covers AIDS 2014

Ask the Experts About

Managing Side Effects of HIV TreatmentManaging Side Effects of HIV Treatment

Rollover images to visit our other forums!
Recent AnswersAsk a Question

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

Needles & Syringes
Mar 4, 2005

I have been taking Fuzeon for 1 1/2 years. The needles and syringes in the kits are just horrible!! I have spoken to my pharmacy who tells me that most people complain about the needles and syringes included in the kits and that the company has NO PLAN to change them. Why are they not listening to the patients? I am a Registered Nurse. I got a supply of needles and syringes from my place of emplyment to try my own comparative study.......I had almost NO injections site sores when I stopped using those contained in the kit. My pharmacy tells me that my MD can write a prescription for needles and syringes. Why should I pay seperately for them. Is there anything that can be done to encourage the company to listen to the patients??? I am close to stopping this drug due to this problem. Thanks, Adam Barrett

Response from Mr. Kurtyka

Adam,

I have heard many complaints similar to those you voice about the needles/syringes that are provided in the Fuzeon kit. I've asked the same question myself. The answer that I've received several times is that when Fuzeon was approved by the FDA, the entire "kit" was approved including the needle and syringe units. In order to leave these out of the kit or change them to another product, a lengthy FDA process would be involved. Assuming this is true, many Fuzeon users have thus resorted to other measures such as requesting a prescription from their healthcare provider for different injection supplies.