Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol

Ask the Experts About

Managing Side Effects of HIV TreatmentManaging Side Effects of HIV Treatment

Rollover images to visit our other forums!
Recent AnswersAsk a Question

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

sinusitis
Feb 6, 2005

I have HIV with T cell count 490 and cd4 is undectable, presently taking Trizivir, Sustiva and Fluconozole( 3x week). For the past 3 1/2 years I been experiencing symptom identified by my DR. as chronic sinusitis. I have been complaining of post nasal drip, nasal congestion,h/a,sinus pressure and now sneezing coughing. When I take a Z pak I feel better for about couple a weeks to a few months before it returns. My occupation is truck driving, I am unable to drive safely in this state. I stopped working 6 months ago d/t fatigue. I have no energy to even look for a new job. For the past 3 years I have been fighting with fatigue, insomnia and impotence. I try and push my self to exercise and weightlift, but lately I'm exhasted. Is this a side effect of HIV or my medication regimen. What can I do? My doctor states there is no infection and does not want to continue to give me antibiotic prescription. She suggest taking anti histamines and nasal sprays, I'm tried of feeling like crap every day! can you help?

Response from Dr. Henry