Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol
Read Now: Expert Opinions on HIV Cure Research

Ask the Experts About

Managing Side Effects of HIV TreatmentManaging Side Effects of HIV Treatment

Rollover images to visit our other forums!
Recent AnswersAsk a Question

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

Long term side effects of Crixivan and Combivir
Jan 8, 2004

I am a State Correction Officer and while preforming my duties I was exposed to an inmates blood. The inmate refused to take a refused to submit to a blood test therefore i was placed on Crixivan and Combivir 3 times a day for a month. I had serious side effects during that month and for several monthes later which include severe fatigue, elevation in liver enzymes(ALT & AST) joint pain, shakeing and severe stomach pain and diahrea. I just don't feel the same after taking that medication. I never had these problems before takeing them but now they have seemed to linger. My lver levels are still elevated could this still be from the medication several monthes later. I have tested negitive several times since the incident. Do you think that the medication had any long term effects on me. i have heard that they shouldnt but I havent felt right the same since taking them. Thanks

Response from Dr. Henry