Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol

Ask the Experts About

Managing Side Effects of HIV TreatmentManaging Side Effects of HIV Treatment

Rollover images to visit our other forums!
Recent AnswersAsk a Question

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

opinion on STI
Sep 15, 2002

I am a very interesting hiv case.I found out in 1991 and my cd4 counts were around nadir 375..starting treament in 1992-02 my cd4 are around 800 and they were on that level for many years highest reading was 1200. viral load undetectable I believe I had the virus for over 15 years.never had an infection.I read alot about research and I invest in the drug stocks.I started short sti with my doctor approval the way I have been doing it is 3 weeks on Sustiva and combivir and one week off.I have been doing it for over 6 months and so far it works my last test was cd4 794 and viral load undetectable and the test was done during an Sti.. I am with Cedar Sinai in Beverly hills. Now my doctor suggested that I can go off all meds and he would moniter me and once the cd4 go down to around 350 start therapy.I don,t feel that comfortable yet..I think one week a month is good also it gives the liver a break my liver enzymes are slightly elevated and my TG tryglicirides are around 400. I know it,s not my diet since I eat a lot of fish veges fruit work out and practice yoga. one problem I have is peripheral neuroprathy it bothers me at night we used elavil which works a little neurontin I did not like. valium I add once in a while but not every night. I think my nubms feet is due to Mytochondrial toxicity.I asked my doctor to give me Carnitor and it makes my skin and body look good but it doesn,t help that much with the numbe feet. I appreciate your feedback regarding STI I understand that long term survivals have good cd8 ctl cells.do you think it,s safe to go on a lo