Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol

Ask the Experts About

Safe Sex and HIV PreventionSafe Sex and HIV Prevention

Rollover images to visit our other forums!
Recent AnswersAsk a Question

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

Duration of Symptoms - conflicting info
Jul 30, 1997

Hello. I am a student conducting some research in the field of HIV infection. I have read elsewhere that acute symptoms can last for several weeks and even months, especially when symptoms are very severe or when the patient experiences asceptic menengitis. Another question on The Body gives some proof to this theory (www.thebody.com/gallant/answers/quest901.html). How do you reconcile your view with these other points of view? I look forward to your response.

Response from Mr. Sowadsky

Hi. Thank you for your question. When we are talking about any aspect of any disease in medicine, whether it is AIDS, Cancer, Heart Disease, etc., if you look hard enough, you will always find some variability in health information. This is because medicine is not an absolute science. Nothing in medicine is absolute or 100%. Medicine is a very complex science.

People often try to find simple answers to complex questions (like symptoms questions). When we give health information on any disease, to keep things as understandable as possible, we try to answer what is found in the majority of cases. We cannot answer what would be found in every single case. Much of what appears to be conflicting information, merely indicates the wide variability you will find in any aspect of any disease in medicine. If you look hard enough, you will find exceptions to everything in medicine, regardless of what disease you are talking about.