Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol

Ask the Experts About

Safe Sex and HIV PreventionSafe Sex and HIV Prevention

Rollover images to visit our other forums!
Recent AnswersAsk a Question

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

My life has become hell, please answer!
Jun 28, 2001

Dear Dr. Ryan,

Please accept my warmest congratulations on the excellent task you carry out, providing all these valuable information on such a burning issue of our era. I am a 26 year old student in Athens, Greece and I wrote you for the first time two days ago. I have had encounters with female sex workers in whorehouses here in Athens in the past. They were always protected (I always wore a condom during the vaginal sex with them). Nevertheless, during my last encounter two months ago, as I was withdrawing from the vagina of the prostitute,without having ejaculated, the condom I wore slip off. She placed it again on my penis and masturbated me till I came. Since that incident I have been worried sick. I can't eat, sleep, attend my classes and participate in my exams. My life in general has become hell. I am afraid to touch my family or my fiancee from fear not to infect them. Please, please help me, I am desperate! Am I at great risk of having been infected from that contact I described? Should I get tested and if yes, when? Once again, I am waiting anxiously for your advice. Please help me!

Response from Mr. Kull

You are not at "great risk" for HIV infection in the encounter you describe. If the condom you were using "slipped off" only while you were withdrawing your penis from your partner's vagina, it seems that the contact your penis would have with vaginal fluids would be minimal. Situations like yours do not generally result in HIV infection.