Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App 
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol

Ask the Experts About

Safe Sex and HIV PreventionSafe Sex and HIV Prevention

Rollover images to visit our other forums!
Recent AnswersAsk a Question

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

Occupational Exposure?

Jul 26, 2017

I work in a lab that does HIV viral load testing on plasma samples. I was preparing the plasma samples for known HIV positive patients, and accidentally spilled some of the sample on my gloves. None got on my skin. I then was called away for an emergency at the clinic and quickly took off my gloves. Due to the urgent nature of the situation, I didn't have time to wash my hands after I degloved (per universal precautions) and remember touching my eyes several times afterwards. Specifically one time I had to adjust my contacts. I reported the situation to my lab supervisor and one of the physicians I work with and he indicated it was not considered a significant exposure and that PEP was not warranted. I still feel very paranoid about the situation though. Is he correct?

Response from Mr. Jacobs

Based on what you are sharing I would also fail to see the need for PeP. But let's break it down and figure out why this does not warrant concern.

(1) You mention preparing plasma samples. But you don't say if the patients had detectable levels or not. If a person with HIV is undetectable for six months or longer then their blood is considered "untransmittable" (http://www.thebody.com/content/79761/why-for-hiv-undetectable--untransmittable.html).