Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol
Read Now: TheBodyPRO.com Covers AIDS 2014

Ask the Experts About

Safe Sex and HIV PreventionSafe Sex and HIV Prevention

Rollover images to visit our other forums!
Recent AnswersAsk a Question

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

Donation made - please help me
Feb 16, 2014

Dear Experts,

I would be most grateful for your advise because I am really scared. I read through the archives but there was not a situation as mine. Ill be as brief as possible.

Facts: - I used somebody elses penis stimulator Coba Libre made of medical-grade silicone - the stimulator was not used by its owner for 6 hours for sure before I used it (perhaps more but I have no knowledge of that) - out of these 6 hours it was in its package for 4 hours (probably with hard access to air) and then in the air for 2 hours - I took it out and there was not wet substances inside from what I could see. I washed it briefly (20 seconds maybe) with shampoo and hot water then let is dry for 2 hours before use

Concerns: I read that it is not advises to use the same toys. In the worst case scenario if the owner is positive and I used it after 6 hours, would you say that my chances of getting hiv are small, negligible or completely non-existent? I am asking this because I read all over the web that sharing toys is high risk. Would hiv die in the air after 6 hours? I am in a monogamous relationship, both tested negative.

Would there be a risk for other STDs from this experience? Thank you so much and all the best to you.

Roberto

Response from Ms. Southall