Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol
Read Now: TheBodyPRO.com Covers AIDS 2014

Ask the Experts About

Safe Sex and HIV PreventionSafe Sex and HIV Prevention

Rollover images to visit our other forums!
Recent AnswersAsk a Question

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

Please help a worried CO
Mar 22, 2013

Dear Shannon,

This is my third time asking this. I haven't gotten any answers from anyone else and while I know you're all busy I hope you can spare me your time. I am a Correctional Officer working in the hospital ward of a jail. Some time ago I had an incident where an Inmate who suffers from AIDS, he is very open about this fact, fell off a portable toilet and onto the floor. He vomitted when this occured. I called for assistance from the nurses and waited a few minutes but when no one had arrived I put on latex gloves and picked the man up before putting him back on the portable toilet and keeping him there. When the nurses arrived I removed my latex gloves before one of them asked me to hold the man by the shoulder and ensure he didn't fall over again. I did this. Approximately five or six minutes later I rubbed my eye without thinking because it started to itch. Could I be at risk for anything if there was residue on his skin? I don't think I touched any blood as I'm sure it would have been noticeable but maybe residue from vomit or anything else. I figure this entire incident took roughly 10 to 15 minutes total from beginning to end when I did rub my eye. My doctor says I am fine but I'd rather hear it from an expert. Please answer me.

-Worried CO

Response from Ms. Southall